Education System in Iceland
6 Institutions·10 ProgramsKey Takeaways
- Number of universities: 10 universities in Iceland; key examples include University of Iceland, Reykjavik University, University of Akureyri.
- Student population: Approximately 18,000 students enrolled nationwide; 5% of students are international.
- Full-time credit load: Full-time study equals 30 ECTS per semester; minimum 18 ECTS, maximum 36 ECTS.
- Academic year dates: Academic year runs from September to May and is divided into autumn and spring semesters.
- Tuition policy: Public universities charge no tuition fees; an annual registration fee is required. Reykjavik University charges tuition for 12 credits plus academic fees.
Degree Structure and Credits
- Key point: Iceland uses ECTS for credit measurement and semester loads.
- Credit rules:
- Full-time workload: 30 ECTS per semester.
- Study range: minimum 18 ECTS, maximum 36 ECTS per semester.
- Degree progression (what the sources provide):
- The provided material lists bachelor and master levels in practice, with master’s programs often offered in English for international students.
- The material does not specify a universal bachelor-to-master length (for example 3+2). Verify specific program lengths with the university.
- What to check on programs:
- Total ECTS required for degree.
- Course-level language of instruction.
- Any professional accreditation requirements.
Types of Higher Education Institutions
- Key point: Iceland has 10 universities; the material names several key institutions.
- Named institutions from the source:
- University of Iceland (founded 1911, largest)
- Reykjavik University (about 3,500 students)
- University of Akureyri
- Classification note:
- The provided facts list these universities but do not assign each to legal categories (public, private, community).
- If you need institution type for financing or visa reasons, confirm on the university website or official registry.
- Practical action:
- Compare the named institutions by program offerings and language options rather than by assumed type.
Academic Calendar and Intakes
- Key point: The academic year runs September to May and is split into two semesters.
- Calendar details:
- Academic year: September to May.
- Semesters: autumn and spring.
- Intake timing and applications:
- Applications open in late autumn or early winter.
- Typical deadlines for fall start: January or February.
- Course load planning:
- Plan for 30 ECTS per semester if you study full time.
- Adjust course registration to meet the 18–36 ECTS range.
Grading and Assessment
- Key point: The source material does not provide a national grading scale.
- What the material shows:
- Assessment and grading details are not specified in the provided facts.
- How to proceed:
- Check each university’s programme page for grading scales and assessment methods.
- For exchange or credit transfer, confirm how the host university converts grades to ECTS.
Admission, Language and Exchange
- Key point: Common application requirements include transcripts, proof of English, and references.
- Typical application documents:
- Academic transcripts.
- Statement of purpose.
- Proof of English proficiency (IELTS or TOEFL).
- Reference letters.
- Language of instruction:
- Bachelor programs are typically in Icelandic.
- Master’s programs are often offered in English for international students.
- Not all courses at Reykjavik University are in English; check course lists before you apply.
- Exchange eligibility (examples from sources):
- University of Iceland exchange: undergraduate students, sophomore status, GPA ≥ 2.5.
- SIT Iceland program: two semesters of college work and GPA ≥ 2.5; program includes meetings with politicians and industry leaders.
Tuition, Fees and Financial Support
- Key point: Public universities do not charge tuition; registration fees apply.
- Fees and tuition:
- Public universities: no tuition fees; an annual registration fee is required.
- Reykjavik University: charges tuition and academic fees for 12 credits of in-state study.
- Scholarships and aid:
- Scholarships are available; specific details are on official university study pages.
- University of Iceland offers financial aid on a case-by-case basis.
- Housing support:
- Reykjavik University assists with lodging; students pay housing providers directly.
- University of Iceland offers off-campus accommodation help through its international office.
How the System Compares Internationally
- Key point: Iceland uses ECTS and small student numbers, which affects program scale and international representation.
- Comparative facts from the source:
- Credit system: full-time 30 ECTS per semester, aligning with ECTS-based systems.
- Student scale: about 18,000 students nationwide; international students make up 5%.
- Language access: master’s programmes are often offered in English, easing access for international applicants.
- Tuition model: public universities have no tuition fees, a difference from countries that charge annual tuition abroad.
- What this means for you:
- Expect smaller cohorts and lower international density compared with larger countries.
- Verify programme language and credit totals when planning transfers or professional recognition.
Frequently asked questions
How long is the academic year in Iceland?
The academic year runs from September to May and is split into autumn and spring semesters. Applications for fall intakes typically open in late autumn or early winter, with deadlines in January or February.
How many ECTS credits is full-time study?
Full-time study is 30 ECTS per semester. Universities allow a minimum of 18 ECTS and a maximum of 36 ECTS per semester.
Do public universities in Iceland charge tuition?
Public universities have no tuition fees, but students must pay an annual registration fee. Reykjavik University does charge tuition and academic fees for 12 credits of study.
Are programs offered in English for international students?
Master’s programmes are often offered in English, which increases options for international applicants. Bachelor programmes are typically in Icelandic, and Reykjavik University does not offer all courses in English.
How many universities and students are there in Iceland?
Iceland has 10 universities and approximately 18,000 students nationwide. About 5% of the student population is international.
Trending institutions in Iceland
View all institutions in Iceland





